

60A, Goddington Lane Orpington, BR6 9DS Phone: +44 1689 606131; Email: charity@iituk.org

<u>Chairman's Report – 2020-2021</u>

The year 2020-2021 was another very eventful one in terms of supporting the Alma Mater in India and raising funds for IIT Roorkee, IIT Bombay and IIT Madras. In total, over £62,465/- was raised during the year. Discussions have been ongoing for signing the Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) with IIT Kanpur, IIT Delhi and IIT Kharagpur allowing us to support them similarly to the other three IITs.

Because of Covid-19 pandemic, no face to face events could be organised. However, many webinars were successfully organised as follows:

- Fireside chat: Thrills and Trials of the Entrepreneurial journey
- Tips on balancing home working and home schooling
- IIT Alumni Learn and network series on the following topics:
 - Blockchain and representative participation in government, public and private sector
 - Art of Angel Investing
 - o Building a Successful Career in Software Development

The year also saw a drive to increase awareness of the IIT AA UK and to increase the number of paid members. Because of that there has been a significant increase in the membership of our LinkedIn Group, registration on our website and more than 25 IITians have become new paid members including a few who paid for Life Membership.

The work on the website continues to make it more user friendly with new features. Some of the existing features from 2019-2020 include: Online sign-ups for Alumni, online payment for membership. events and for donations. New members now can register to the website far quickly using their LinkedIn login details. We now also have a Discussion Board for registered members of our website with a number of channels to share/post things of mutual interest including Job Postings, UK Visa and Immigration Matters, Financial Matters etc.

Indian Institute of Technology - Alumni Association UK

A Charity Registered in England and Wales, Registration Number 1126274

Committee Members:

Mr. Ajay Chaudhary, Dr. Rajeev Benodekar, Mr Shyamal Desai, Dr. Raj Jain, Mr. Shankar Meembat, Mr. Yusuf Jazakallah, Mr. Sandeep Reddy